Jason Kidd Rap – Transcribed

27 Feb

kiddspeak

Thanks to the folks over at the Gorilla vs. Bear blog, I just heard Jason Kidd’s 1994 attempt at rapping — a sad song called “What the Kidd Didd” that features Digital Underground’s Money B.  It can be said with no hesitation that Kidd and B. have recorded one of the sorriest songs in the world’s history.  I have done my best to transcribe the lyrics here, but there were a few nonsensical parts that I could not comprehend.  Jason Kidd, if you read this, please leave a comment and fill in the gaps. Enjoy!

mp3: What the Kidd Didd (feat. Money B)

Lyrics to go:

(Kidd)
J. Kidd from the town O-A-K
He came from a newcomer or so they say
I’m the new Kidd on the block, but they jock still
I got skills with the rock

(Money B.)
And you can call Austin like Steve Austin
Steady flossin’ with cash earned from hittin’ Mashburn

(Kidd)
On the break, you want me to take (??)
With a left, right uh get shook, look

(Money B.)
More steals than Ricky Hen (??) from the Pac-10

(Kidd)
I ain’t new to
This, I give assists like a high school tutor
But who the hell said bein’ a Kidd was easy?

Chorus:
People wanna know what the Kidd didd
But ain’t nothin’ goin on but cash and b-ballin’
People wanna know what the Kidd didd
But I guess they’re all ears cus they hear a brotha fallin’
People wanna know what the Kidd didd
Don’t sweat it everything’s gonna be alright
I said people wanna know what the Kidd didd
But all you really gotta know is he’s tiiight

(Kidd)
Let’s go back
A few years to be exact
High chool the fools didn’t know how to act
At St. Joe’s the hos treated me different
But I was good on the dribble like an infant
And it went
All down accordin to plan
At UC-Berkeley I was the m- I was the man
Every week, my name in the (??)
J-Kidd, kickin’ ass like Jim Kelly

(Money B.)
And he had more chicks than Kentucky Fried
The ones that said they didn’t wanna

(Kidd)
Well, they lied, and a few tried the kick it
Tough
Lookin’ at me like a meal ticket

(Money B.)
Now you gotta play the low on the scene

(Kidd)
And try my best to avoid Billie Jean

(Money B.)
But now you gotta deal with the drama

(Kidd)
I shoulda seen it comin’
Like Rocky’s momma

Chorus:
Now, people wanna know what the Kidd didd
Work hard and try to get my family paid
Oh yeah the people wanna know what the Kidd didd
Now all the chicks screamin’ “I wanna be saved!”
People wanna know what the Kidd didd
Don’t sweat it everything’s gonna be alright
Uh-huh the people wanna know what the Kidd didd
But all you really gotta know is he’s tiiight

(Group)
Now it ain’t no party like a J-Kidd party
Cus a J-Kidd party don’t stop

(Kidd)
But it ain’t no party cus I can’t get it started
With all the player haters on my jock

(Money B.)
Q said every block in America’s Most Wanted

(Kidd)
But ooohh try to hit the strip in a drop 500 Benzito
The phat two-seato

(Money B.)
Lookin’ fo freaks to lay like a Frito

(Kidd)
Everybody’s got they eyes peeled back
Cops lookin’ for a chance to jack
And every chick that I pass
Is smilin’ and wavin’
Dam near turnin’ flips on the pavement

(Money B.)
Old folks roll up, stop and grin atcha
While their kids get atcha
For a signacha

(Kidd)
All that could really make a brother bat (??)
But hey, hasn’t this happened?

Chorus:
People wanna know what the Kidd didd
Just livin’ my life like a brotha supposed to
People wanna know what the Kidd didd
And I’m surrounded by rumors like the Timex social
People wanna know what the Kidd didd
Don’t sweat it everything’s gonna be alright
Yeah the people wanna know what the Kidd didd
But all you really need to know is I’m tiiight

6 Responses to “Jason Kidd Rap – Transcribed”

  1. chris February 27, 2008 at 8:39 pm #

    haha. this song is somehow even worse when you read it. nice job making out some of his jibberish, you did better than i would have.

  2. bootboy May 19, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    honestly do you think kidd wrote the lyrics? also do you think it was his idea to do this? 1994 kidd was a rookie looking to get paid! why dis him now? the music is outdated just like whoomp there it is, so why even bring up old stuff? man! judge him on his performance because really thats all he contributed to the piece. and he sounds better than 50 cent, i bet he sings better than the numb skull who wrote the arical because I heard kidd sings good, not rap you know singing real talent!!

    • Nic. Hernandez May 20, 2011 at 10:23 am #

      LoL… “arical.”

  3. berkeley May 29, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

    I think it’s “Every week, my name in the campanile.” It’s the clock tower in Berkeley.

    • Nic. Hernandez May 30, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

      Very Nice.. Thanks for the info, Berk.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Jason Kidd retires: Remembering his rap, “What the Kidd Did” - The website is about NBA, NFL, MLB, NHL - June 4, 2013

    […] from the track are transcribed here, should you feel the need to dissect every word’s […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

